Skip Navigation LinksHome > Events > Grand Marshals

Grand Marshals

Bill & Sharon Farr

Bill & Sharon Farr

The Greeley Stampede is honored to announce Bill and Sharon Farr as the 2013 Greeley Stampede Grand Marshals. Each year since 1928 the Stampede Committee has recognized outstanding citizens for their many community and regional contributions to Northern Colorado by choosing them to represent the Greeley Stampede.

Bill Farr is a fourth generation Greeley native and the third generation in his family, including Harry W. Farr and W.D. Farr, to be chosen as a Grand Marshal. He and his family have been actively involved in Weld County for over 135 years and the Greeley Stampede since its’ inception in 1922.
In 1992, Bill founded Centennial Bank of the West and served as CEO until the Bank sold to Castle Creek Investments in 2004 which is now Guaranty Bank and Trust. He served as President of Farr Farms Company, the Colorado Cattle Feeders Association and the U.S. Meat Export Federation, as well as participated as a Director and Officer of several local water and agricultural boards. Always active in the community, Bill's credits include Rotary, Boy Scouts, Greeley Elks, Boys Club, Greeley Country Club and the First Congregational Church.

Bill's commitment to the Stampede is longstanding. During his years on the committee, the Wrangler organization was started, the event name was changed from "Go West with Greeley" to "The Greeley Independence Stampede". That committee also helped designate the Stampede as "The Largest 4th of July Rodeo and Western Celebration". One of Bill's favorite memories…The committee arranged for Actor/singer Ken Curtis from the TV series Gunsmoke to sing at the first Night show. The contract did not include a designed length of time, so Mr. Curtis sang until intermission and then left the grounds…

Sharon is a third generation Weld County native. Her grandfather, Fred came from Sweden to settle in Eaton in 1885. Her father, Herman, faithfully took his family to the 4th of July celebration each July. It was the most anticipated event of the entire year for them.
Sharon, a graduate of UNC, taught Home Economics at Meeker Jr. High and Greeley West. She also sold office furniture and started her own company, Farr Better Interiors. She has been an active member and officer of several organizations including American Association of University Women, Greeley Philharmonic, Centennial Rotary, United Way, Professional Employer Association, and Questers. She served three terms on the Greeley Museum Board. Her favorite memory of the Stampede is the Old Grand Stand (the original arena before it burnt down in the 1970’s).
Both Bill and Sharon feel extremely honored and privileged to represent the Greeley Stampede as Grand Marshals. “This prestigious celebration is one of the most important events that occurs in Northern Colorado. It brings together neighbors, friends, and visitors from all walks of life to focus on our community and celebrate the western traditions and freedoms we enjoy” said Bill.

Previous Grand Marshals

2012   Bill & Sylvia Webster

2011   Harold & Carol Evans

2010   Norm & Bonnie Dean

2009   Pete & Jean Morrell

2008   Kay Norton

2007   Wes Sargent

2006   Manuel Sisneros

2005   Lee Yoder

2004   Brian Gary & Todd Harding

2003   George & Betty Hall

2002   Dick & Chris Monfort

2001   Joe & Val Vickeralli

2000   Buck & Patsy Moskalski

1999   Carl & Joanne Hill

1998   Joe & Michelle Glenn

1997   Hank & Nan Brown

1996   Vic & Edye Nottingham

1995   Paul & Jean Hoshiko

1994   Dewey & Dorothy Zabka

1993   Bob & Betty Tointon

1992   John & Tate Todd

1991   Duane & Dorothy Francis

1990   Joe & Joan Tennessen

1989   Bob & Ludie Dickenson

1988   Martin Candelaria

1987   Wendell Fuller

1986   Harold & Florence Winograd

1985   W.D. Farr

1984   Hiroshi Tateyama

1983   Dale Hinman

1982   John Hancock

1981   Carroll Gilbert

1980   Larry McArthur

1979   Judge Donald Carpenter

1978   Ken Monfort

1977   Earl & Rosalie Steele

1976   Stow Witwer

1975   Hazel E. Johnson

1974   Herbert A. Jacobsen

1973   Frank Edward Newman

1972   J. Warrach Norcross

1971   Henry Hibbs and Warren Monfort

1970   John W. Allnutt

1969   Andy Campbell

1968   W.R. Kelly

1967   Carl C. Tams

1966   Walter L. McCall & Leslie R. Leahe

1965   Tom Welsh

1964   Dr. William R. Ross

1963   Tony Keltner

1962   Harry W. Farr

1961   Gus Anderson

1960   Gus Anderson

1959   Mr. & Mrs. Charles E. Southard

1958   Tom Mawson

1957   Tom Mawson

1956   Tom Mawson

1955   Tom Mawson

1954   Tom Mawson