Home > About Us > Grand Marshals

Grand Marshals

Randy Owens Photography

Randy Owens Photography 

Mike and Nomie Ketterling moved to Greeley on the Fourth of July, 1977.  When they asked the desk clerk at a downtown hotel what to do in Greeley on the 4th, the clerk looked at them in disbelief and said “the Greeley Independence Stampede”.  He instructed them to walk northwest until they saw the carnival and grandstand.  So began their association with one of Greeley and Weld County’s premier events: the “World’s Largest 4th of July Rodeo and Western Celebration”.

Nomie was born in San Jose, Costa Rica, and grew up in Park City, Montana.  Mike was born and raised in Billings, Montana; they met at Montana State University and married in 1976. 

Nomie earned a BS in Sociology from MSU and MA in Psychology from UNC.  She began her work in Greeley at the Weld County Sheriff’s Office then spent the next 23 years working for Weld County Partners.  She is currently at North Range Behavioral Health as the program coordinator for Weld County Prevention Partners, a coalition for youth substance abuse prevention.

Mike received his BS and MS in Civil Engineering from MSU. Mike began his engineering career at NHPQ then worked at Norton, Underwood & Lamb before starting the firm of KBN Engineers in 1995.

Nomie has been on the High Plains Library District Board and a 20-year member of the Eaton Public Library Board.  She participated in Leadership Greeley/Weld County and is a member of the GX Chapter of PEO. She has volunteered for Right to Read, Eaton Fire Department Auxiliary, Partners, United Way, the Woman’s Fund, TGYS State Board, Aims Community College Criminal Justice Board and is currently on the MSU Alumni Advisory Board.

Mike was a volunteer fireman for the Eaton Fire Protection District for 20 years; he served on the Weld County United Way Board of Directors, Greeley Area Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors, the Greeley Independence Stampede Committee from 1998 to 2001, Community Foundation Serving Greeley/Weld County Board and Littler Youth Fund Committee. He is currently the Chairman of the Poudre River Trail Corridor Board, on the Greeley Downtown Development Authority Board, Stampede Foundation Board, Great Western Trail Authority Board and Partners Mentoring Youth - Greeley Advisory Committee & Northern Colorado Board of Directors and a member of the Eaton Sertoma Club.

The Ketterling’s were co-founders with Tuffy & Shirley Holland of the Greeley Stampede Western Art Show and Sale.  In its first fourteen years, the Art Show sold a million dollars worth of art that generated a quarter million dollars towards scholarships for youth graduating from Weld County high schools.

“When asked to be this year’s Grand Marshals for the 92nd Greeley Stampede, we couldn’t believe the great honor that had been given us. We have been fortunate to have opportunities to get involved with our Community and been blessed by all the experiences we have had and the people we have come to know over the years. We couldn’t be happier and more proud of the honor of being this year’s Grand Marshals”.

Previous Grand Marshals

2013   Bill & Sharon Farr

2012   Bill & Sylvia Webster

2011   Harold & Carol Evans

2010   Norm & Bonnie Dean

2009   Pete & Jean Morrell

2008   Kay Norton

2007   Wes Sargent

2006   Manuel Sisneros

2005   Lee Yoder

2004   Brian Gary & Todd Harding

2003   George & Betty Hall

2002   Dick & Chris Monfort

2001   Joe & Val Vickeralli

2000   Buck & Patsy Moskalski

1999   Carl & Joanne Hill

1998   Joe & Michelle Glenn

1997   Hank & Nan Brown

1996   Vic & Edye Nottingham

1995   Paul & Jean Hoshiko

1994   Dewey & Dorothy Zabka

1993   Bob & Betty Tointon

1992   John & Tate Todd

1991   Duane & Dorothy Francis

1990   Joe & Joan Tennessen

1989   Bob & Ludie Dickenson

1988   Martin Candelaria

1987   Wendell Fuller

1986   Harold & Florence Winograd

1985   W.D. Farr

1984   Hiroshi Tateyama

1983   Dale Hinman

1982   John Hancock

1981   Carroll Gilbert

1980   Larry McArthur

1979   Judge Donald Carpenter

1978   Ken Monfort

1977   Earl & Rosalie Steele

1976   Stow Witwer

1975   Hazel E. Johnson

1974   Herbert A. Jacobsen

1973   Frank Edward Newman

1972   J. Warrach Norcross

1971   Henry Hibbs and Warren Monfort

1970   John W. Allnutt

1969   Andy Campbell

1968   W.R. Kelly

1967   Carl C. Tams

1966   Walter L. McCall & Leslie R. Leahe

1965   Tom Welsh

1964   Dr. William R. Ross

1963   Tony Keltner

1962   Harry W. Farr

1961   Gus Anderson

1960   Gus Anderson

1959   Mr. & Mrs. Charles E. Southard

1958   Tom Mawson

1957   Tom Mawson

1956   Tom Mawson

1955   Tom Mawson

1954   Tom Mawson