Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube Big 97.9's SuperStars+ Playlist
Skip Navigation Links

Press Release

< Back to Press




More than 80 applications were submitted from students across Weld County high schools for a chance to be considered for a Greeley Stampede Foundation scholarship. Applications were submitted from all over Weld County, creating a very competitive selection process.

“Every year members of the Greeley Stampede Foundation are in awe of the amount of hard work and dedication that Weld students embody,” said Bob Hinderaker, Scholarship Chairman of the Greeley Stampede Foundation. “To show our appreciation and support, the students will be recognized at several Stampede events including the Stampede Kickoff Luncheon on June 1st and the July 1st PRCA rodeo.”

Recipients were selected based on their outstanding academic results, school involvement, leadership in the community, and plans to further their education. The selected 2018 Greeley Stampede Foundation High School Academic Scholarship recipients represent 11 Weld County High Schools. The Foundation Board is proud to help these community minded students build a bright future for themselves and, as a result, our community.

The Holland Memorial Scholarship was also given to a 2018 applicant. The Holland Scholarship was generously funded by Shirley Holland in memory of Tuffy Holland. Shirley and Tuffy are founding members of the Stampede Western Invitational Art Exhibit & Sale. Proceeds from the Western Art Show go to the Stampede Foundation to support education in Weld County.

For the fourth year, one college-level rodeo scholarship was awarded based on academic results and competitive level with the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. The 2018 recipient is Erica Sinclair who attends Colorado State University and is pursuing a dual major in Equine Science and Agricultural Business.

Also, in annual support of the young lady who dedicates herself to represent the state of Colorado and the Greeley Stampede as the home rodeo of the Miss Colorado Pageant across the nation, 2018 Miss Rodeo Colorado, Alex Hyland, a Windsor native, has been awarded a Foundation scholarship.

Over $57,000 will be awarded to students for the 2018-2019 academic year. The 2018 recipients include:

Ethan Alcazar
Eaton High School

Peyton Book
Greeley West High

Jackson Campbell
Greeley Central High

Paola Espinoza
Northridge High School
Holland Memorial Scholarship

Spencer Evans
Greeley West High

Abigail Flores
University High School

Dario Garcia
Northridge High School

Alex Hyland
CSU Pueblo
Miss Rodeo Colorado Foundation Scholarship

Elise Johnson
Greeley West High

Jacquelyn Jones
Frontier Academy

Hannah Kipp
Weld Central High

Monica Marquez
Fort Lupton High School

Krista McAllister
Frontier Academy

Joseph Messmer
Eaton High School

Caitlyn Olson
Frontier Academy

Cari Otto
Frontier Academy

Jacey Reinert
Platte Valley High School

Grant Rivera
Greeley Central High

Ethan Shepherd
Greeley West High

Joanna Shoemate
Windsor Charter

Erica Sinclair

Rodeo Scholarship

Adalyn Vergara
Windsor High School

Abigail Morena Zavala
Northridge High School

The Stampede Foundation is a non-profit organization formed to support continuing education for Weld County students. Since beginning the program, the Stampede Foundation has awarded more than $440,000 in scholarships.

The Foundation works with the Greeley Stampede to produce events and programs that benefit the Stampede Foundation including the Stampede Western Art Show, Big Buckle Ball, and Golf Tournament.

ABOUT THE GREELEY STAMPEDE: The Greeley Stampede, a 501(c)4 nonprofit corporation, is Colorado’s premiere summer western celebration. This longstanding event has grown in diversity and popularity since its inception and has provided music and rodeo entertainment to hundreds of thousands of people every summer. The Stampede was inducted in the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame in 2014 and the event was named 2015 Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association (PRCA) Mountain States Large Rodeo of the Year. For more information about the Greeley Stampede visit www.greeleystampede.org.


  • Copyright ©2023, Greeley Stampede. All Rights Reserved.
  • Follow us  
  • Follow on Facebook  
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Powered by  
Back to